Last call for Trillium absinthe

One of the things which I admire most about the storied history of absinthe is precisely that – the story and the history. While the absinthe-fueled accounts of various playwrights, poets, murderers and thieves are intriguing, they don’t compare to living your life and making your own stories and memories. For me, absinthe has played a central role in several memorable moments, more so than any other drink. Red wine comes in a close second, but it usually plays a supporting role and I very rarely remember the specific wine for a particular occasion.

Which is why, even though it was not a surprise to me, I was saddened to hear the official word that Trillium Absinthe would no longer be produced. In the interest of full disclosure, I should say up front that Trillium is not a very good absinthe. Mind you, it isn’t bad; the distiller at least had the decency to use actual grande wormwood and to not use unnatural colors (something which, shamefully, the modern Pernod absinthe cannot say). However, the color was a bit too straw-like and pale, indicating a poorly done coloration process, and the wormwood itself did not taste like top-grade wormwood which I’ve detected in the very best brands.

Having said that, Trillium was distilled by Integrity Spirits in Portland, Oregon, as close to a hometown in my adult years as I’ll likely ever know. It’s my understanding that Trillium was actually the second American-made absinthe to be released after the lifting of the “ban” in the United States (perhaps we’ll discuss at a later date how, technically speaking, there appears to have never been an actual ban on absinthe here), the first being St. George. As it was such an early absinthe leading the charge into the 21st century, I had hoped that  Trillium would fulfill its potential and fine-tune its recipe into something very tasty indeed. As superficial as it may seem, I love the name and Trillium flower, and they had an attractive sky blue and white color scheme for the bottle. Unfortunately, it was officially announced on the Distillery Row website this week that Integrity Spirits is no more.

This was not truly a shock, as the Integrity Spirits site had gone dark months ago. In January or February, I saw smaller 375 cl bottles appear on the shelves of Portland liquor stores after the standard 750 cl bottles had disappeared, which I presumed meant they were selling off the last of their stock. Still, seeing the last nail driven into the coffin lent it a finality that was saddening. There aren’t that many absinthe distillers to begin with, and each one lost brings the drink closer to the brink of obscurity yet again.

On a more personal note, Trillium was the first (and in fact, is still the only) absinthe I ever ordered out. While I tend to drink fine liquor at home (partly to be in a more intimate environment with friends, and partly because I don’t want to pay the exorbitant markups), and especially absinthe because it’s so rare to find a bar which stocks even one decent brand, in 2010 I was tipped off to the fact that Hobnob Grille, which was a mere two blocks away from my (then) apartment on Belmont St., stocked two absinthes. Ok, in point of fact they only stocked one, since the other was Le Tourment Vert, a faux-absinthe which was mercifully booed into retirement some time ago, but I was more than ready to try the Trillium. My girlfriend and I walked in and sat down, noting the unique environment of what amounted to a sort of sports bar which nevertheless had only one television and wrap-around bar on one side of the restaurant, and a wide-open space with a few tables and a ping-pong (table tennis) table in the center.

We ordered some food (I believe some creole calimari, and definitely some french fries), and then we ordered our drinks, including the Trillium. The waiter asked me if I would like a glass of water to pour into the absinthe (a rare insight for wait staff in 2010 and maybe still today, from what I understand), and then he apologized that they didn’t have an absinthe spoon. To his amusement, I pulled my own out of my pocket. I was never in the Boy Scouts, but I had the “Be prepared” motto down cold. He brought our drinks, and I set about louching up the Trillium. I was happy, my girlfriend was happy for me, and it was a nice feeling to simply be able to enjoy a glass of absinthe at the green hour out in the wild as if it was a mundane, everyday occurrence. The waiter offered to bring us paddles and a ping-pong ball in case we wanted to have a game, but we played it cool and just soaked in the eccentric atmosphere. It was a moment. Incidentally, while local Portland favorite (and fantastic singer-songwriter regardless of geographical location) Laura Viers wasn’t playing on the sound system, her hauntingly beautiful songs were reverberating in our ears from her albums (and her in-store performance in the Apple store). If you’d like a taste of the July Flame album from 2010, I recommend “Life is Good Blues”, although “Galaxies” might be my favorite song of hers. Ah Portland, all of your quirky coolness is missed.

In addition to Trillium absinthe, Integrity Spirits also produced a few other spirits, the most notable of which may be 12 Bridges Gin. I’m not sure of what other promotional items they may have had made up for the distillery, but below you will find an extremely rare Trillium-branded absinthe fountain. Mind you, I have no numerical evidence on which to base that notion, but I triple-dog dare you to try to find another one. If you do, we should share a drink.

R.I.P. Integrity Spirits.

Trillium absinthe, promo card for Laura Veirs' "July Flame" album, and a very rare Trillium-branded absinthe fountain

Trillium absinthe, promo card for Laura Veirs' "July Flame" album, and a very rare Trillium-branded absinthe fountain

4 Comments

  1. SBM said,

    April 8, 2012 at 4:35 am

    You, sir/madame fiend, have a clear and coherent writing style, and your pen/keystrokes flow with a natural voice, easy wit, and a non-snooty intelligence that I find rare in those who either write, claim to be writers, or both. Your love of absinthe is as clear as a well-made blanche. The tribute you make to Trillium is sensitive and genuine; I felt myself feeling a loss, thinking of the effort and time…the dreams of its distillers. A human element is somehow evoked, without you doing so directly. That, is called writing. Please keep up the good work!
    Santé.

    • April 8, 2012 at 8:37 am

      Thank you so much for the thoughtful and kind words. Writing about absinthe is a pleasure, but it’s nice to not be doing so in a vacuum, as you yourself know.

      Operating a distillery in the United States and staying in business is a challenge in and of itself, let alone trying to come up with an exceptional absinthe recipe, and so I do feel for Integrity Spirits. Kudos to them for having made the effort and stayed in the game for a few years. Likewise, congratulations to you on the pending publication of your updated Absinthe Antiques book! I’m familiar with the first edition, and am looking forward to what I’m told will be a noticeably expanded second edition. Cheers to you!

  2. kissthewookiee said,

    April 27, 2012 at 9:19 am

    Thanks for framing this absinthe experience around a grill and a singer; I’ve been in Portland just over a year but not familiar with either. Have you thought about reviewing food/music/film pairings with your favorite drink?

    • April 30, 2012 at 10:53 am

      Portland has an overwhelming amount of great food and music to offer, and I do miss that city! To answer your question: Yes, I have thought about writing short essays which involve pairing food and drinks with certain films and/or music. However, I don’t think I’d present it in a review format, partly because that would seem to rigid and formal, and partly because my “reviews” certainly wouldn’t be timely. As much as I love the internet and near-instantaneous communication, one unfortunate by-product is the increasing desire to be the very first one to publish something online, which leads to poor quality writing and shallow consideration of the subject at hand. See just about any Yahoo news article for an example of what I mean. So long as there is no clock ticking, though, it would be fun. I’ll see what I can come up with for this spring/summer — thanks for the suggestion!


Leave a Reply

